Stein’s Gate, a broken doorknob and Michigan winters

Michigan winters are cold. Pretty damn cold. Today I think the high was 12 and we’ve had about a foot of snow in 24 hours. Granted, this is definitely not the worst winter ever. The west side of the state gets a lot of lake effect snow and last year sucked giant donkey balls. We thought it would never end.

This year however has been unexpectedly mild. Do you have any idea how spoiled a Michigander can get with no snow until after Christmas?! We had glorious 50 degree days in December! It was like I was back in Missouri and we’d have to make sad little snowmen who were covered in leaves that were sticking out every which way because we didn’t have enough snow to make a proper one. Like seriously people. As a kid I wondered how people made these perfect looking snowmen with no leaves when there was barely any snow.

Fast-forward to 11 year old me,  moved to Michigan, and finally realizing that yes Virginia there is a snowy season. We never had much money growing up so it was always plastic grocery bag lined rubber boots for snow shoes and after 11 years of not having to deal with that sort of thing I never quite got the hang of walking in them. My feet would swish around inside the boots because they were a size too big because then I could wear them the next year. Nevermind my feet wouldn’t grow again until 9th grade. (Dudes and dudettes, I’m a size 6.5 and have been since then.) Anyway, I blame those plastic bags for the fact that I am especially ungraceful even when walking on dry level ground.

So back to today. I have locked myself into my house three times. The last time I said screw it and now I’m sitting on my couch re-watching Stein’s Gate (I have a couple friends who would be very happy to learn I’ve embraced a few animes) and drinking generic ginger ale. Generic because I lost my debit card last week, the new one hasn’t arrived yet, I used up all my checks and I could only find enough change to buy 69 cent pop and a can of cheap cat food. (The cat food was for Emmex…not me. I have never eaten cat food. Okay, I tried it once but that was back when I was 13 and we never bought our kitty wet food and I was watching a neighbor’s cat and I was curious to find out if it tasted as good as it smelled. The answer is no. :/ ) I would have fixed my doorknob but once again, it’s twelve degrees outside and I really enjoy having fingers.

So why the heck am I telling you all this?  Honestly I’m not completely sure, but I think it has something to do with not letting the crappy stuff get to you. Sometimes you just need to duct tape the hole in your door, pour yourself a glass of ginger ale, forget the wailing wind outside and watch a good show. Not everything needs to be fixed right away. Procrastination can be a good thing….for a little bit. Especially if you’re getting overwhelmed with a bunch of little things that keep piling up to make you want to tear your hair out.at-at-attack.jpg.jpeg

Seriously, kittens, it’s cold out there. 
Leave a Reply

